Call for Papers

Conference Scope

Swarm intelligence is the discipline that deals with the study of self-organizing processes both in nature and in artificial systems. Researchers in ethology and animal behavior have proposed a number of models to explain interesting aspects of collective behaviors such as movement coordination, shape-formation or decision making. Recently, algorithms and methods inspired by these models have been proposed to solve difficult problems in many domains. ANTS 2022 will give researchers in swarm intelligence the opportunity to meet, to present their latest research, and to discuss current developments and applications.

Relevant Research Areas

ANTS 2022 solicits contributions dealing with any aspect of swarm intelligence. Typical, but not exclusive, topics of interest are:
  • Behavioral models of social insects or other animal societies that can stimulate new algorithmic approaches.
  • Empirical and theoretical research in swarm intelligence.
  • Application of swarm intelligence methods, such as ant colony optimization or particle swarm optimization, to real-world problems.
  • Theoretical and experimental research in swarm robotics systems.

Important Dates

  • Submission deadline: April 15, 2022
  • Notification of acceptance: June 15, 2022
  • Camera ready copy: June 29, 2022
  • Conference: November 2-4, 2022

Call for papers in PDF format


Welcome to Málaga !

For the first time, the ANTS conference series will be take place in Málaga, Spain. The conference will be hosted by the University of Málaga (UMA) in a historical building close to the city center and the port.


Edificio del Rectorado
Av. de Cervantes, 2
29016, Málaga, Spain.

Conference Information


Organizing Committee

General chair
Marco Dorigo, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
Heiko Hamann, University of Lübeck
Local organisation and publicity chair
Manuel López-Ibáñez, University of Málaga
Technical program chairs
Andries Engelbrecht, University of Stellenbosch, Cape Town
Carlo Pinciroli, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Worcester
Publication chair
Volker Strobel, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
Paper submission chair
Christian Camacho Villalón, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

Program Committee

  • To be announced


Oral Presentations

Each oral presentation will last 20 minutes sharp (15 minutes presentation plus 5 minutes for questions-and-answers). A beamer will be available. A computer is available running Windows7, and PowerPoint and Acrobat Reader are installed. You can use this computer for your presentation, or you can bring your own laptop.
Paper presented orally will be also presented during the poster session on the same day of the presentation. Please refer to the on-line program for the details.


Posters should be of size A0 portrait. There is no standard template for the poster, every author can choose what best fits his work. Material to fix the poster on the stand will be available.


Papers that are not presented orally will be introduced by the author in a 2 minute highlight, using a SINGLE slide. This slide must be sent to us in advance. We will preload this slide onto the computer and project it for you during your presentation.

Paper submissions will open soon

Camera ready submissions will open soon

Proceedings and journal special issue

The journal Swarm Intelligence will publish a special issue dedicated to ANTS 2022 that will contain extended versions of the best research works presented at the conference.

Last modification: October 8, 2021.